AGS State Affiliates | Find a Geriatrics Health Care Provider

Thomas and Catherine Yoshikawa Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement in Clinical Investigation

Purpose: To recognize outstanding achievement in clinical research addressing healthcare problems of older adults by an investigator who is actively involved in direct patient care. The award takes into consideration independence of thought and originality in research.

Eligibility: This award targets mid-career clinician-investigators actively involved in geriatric patient care who have accomplished meritorious clinical research and who have transitioned beyond the career development stage of their research career. The ideal candidate is an individual who has achieved the Associate Professor rank or has been awarded an RO1-type grant (or the equivalent). The award is not intended to recognize accomplishments in basic or animal research. This award is designed to recognize particularly meritorious research accomplishments of those who can be considered independent investigators, but is not intended to recognize the most mature and experienced senior clinical investigators in the field. The candidate should be a resident of the United States or Canada.

Nomination Process: The nomination should consist of a primary letter of nomination outlining the candidate's research contributions and participation in geriatric patient care, the candidate's curriculum vitae, reprints of up to three publications illustrating the most important contributions of the nominee (at least one of these publications must be in the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society), and one or two supporting letters of recommendation. The nominee should continue to be actively engaged in the line of research for which the award is made. Nominations will be reviewed and the awardee selected by the Research Committee of the American Geriatrics Society.

Click here for the nomination form or call the AGS office at (212) 308-1414 for more information.

The awards submission deadline is December 1, 2016 at 11:59 pm Eastern time. 

Announcement: The name of the recipient will be announced in the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. The recipient will be invited to present a lecture describing his/her most important research accomplishments at the AGS Annual Meeting and will be invited to submit a paper summarizing this work for potential publication in the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society.  The paper will be reviewed under the usual editorial policies of the Journal.

Award: $2,000 will be awarded to the recipient.

Past Recipients of the Outstanding Scientific Achievement for Clinical Investigation Award:

2016      Mara Schonberg, MD, MPH
2015      Rebecca Sudore, MD

2014      XinQi Dong, MD, MPH
2013      Cynthia J. Brown, MD, MSPH

2012      Malaz A. Boustani, MM, MPH
2011      Catherine A. Sarkisian, MD, MSPH2010     
2010      Cynthia M. Boyd, MD, MPH
2009      Louise C. Walter, MD
2008      R. Sean Morrison, MD
2007      Eric A. Coleman, MD, MPH
2006      David J. Cassaret, MD, MS
2005      Joe Verghese, MBBS, MS
2004      Terri R. Fried, MD
2003      Edward Marcantonio, MD, Boston, MA
2002      James T. Pacala, MD, Minneapolis, MN
2001      Thomas M. Gill, MD, New Haven, CT
2001      Greg A. Sachs, MD, Chicago, IL
2000      Elizabeth Capezuti, PhD, RN
1999      Mark A. Supiano, MD
1998      Sharon K. Inouye, MD
1992      Mary Tinetti, MD
1991      Larry Rubenstein, MD, MPH

Your Gateway to the American Geriatrics Society Products and Publications