AGS State Affiliates | Find a Geriatrics Health Care Provider

Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award

Dennis W. Jahnigen, MD (1947-1998), was acclaimed as an extraordinary teacher, receiving numerous awards from students and faculty. In 1998, the AGS awarded him the Milo D. Leavitt Award to recognize his distinguished career in geriatrics education. Dr. Jahnigen's clinical skills and heartfelt, compassionate concern for older adults continue to flourish in the many students who have benefited from his teaching and mentorship.

Purpose: This award is given annually to an AGS member who has provided leadership to train students in geriatrics and has contributed significantly to the progress of geriatrics education in health professions schools. Teaching expertise as well as educational program development is valued in the selection of the recipient for this honor.

Nomination Process: Nominations must consist of a letter of nomination, at least one additional letter of support from colleagues, and the nominee's curriculum vitae. The nomination letters should specifically address how the individual's accomplishments relate to the purpose of the award.

The awards submission deadline is December 1, 2016 at 11:59 pm Eastern time. 

Award: Travel expenses to attend the Annual Meeting.

Click here for the nomination form or call the AGS office at (212)308-1414 for more information.

Past Recipients of the Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award:

2016      Annette (Annie) Medina-Walpole, MD, AGSF
2015      Barbara Resnick, PhD, RN, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP, AGSF

2014      Elizabeth K. Tanner, PhD, RN
2013      Gail Sullivan, MD, MPH

2012      Leo M Cooney, Jr., MD
2011      Sharon A. Levine, MD
2010      G. Paul Eleazer, MD
2009      Samuel C. Durso, MD, MBA
2008      Rosanne M. Leipzig, MD, PhD
2007      Steven R. Counsell, MD
2006      Kenneth Brummel-Smith, MD
2005      Harvey Jay Cohen, MD
2004      Terry T. Fulmer, PhD, RN, FAAN
2003      William Hall, MD, Rochester, NY
2002      Gregg A. Warshaw, MD, Cincinnati, OH
2001      Evelyn C. Granieri, MD, Pittsburgh, PA
2000      David B. Reuben, MD, Los Angeles, CA
1999      John R. Burton, MD

Your Gateway to the American Geriatrics Society Products and Publications