AGS State Affiliates | Find a Geriatrics Health Care Provider

Edward Henderson Student Award

The Edward Henderson Student Award is presented to a student interested in pursuing a career in geriatrics, who has demonstrated excellence in the field.

Eligibility: To be eligible for nomination, a student must have demonstrated a commitment to the field of geriatrics through leadership in areas pertinent to geriatrics; initiation of new information or programs in geriatrics; or scholarship in geriatrics through original research or reviews.

Nomination Process: The student must be nominated by one faculty member with at least two supporting letters of nomination from other faculty. The application packet must be compiled by the nominator and must include: 1) the nominating letter; 2) two accompanying letters of recommendation; 3) the student's curriculum vitae; 4) a statement (approx. 150 words) from the student nominee describing his/her work and interest in geriatrics; and, 5) supporting materials, such as copies of research papers, abstracts, or reports mentioned in support of the nominee. A syllabus of the program the student has participated in or will participate in may also be included. Only documented work will be reviewed or considered by the selection committee. 

The awards submission deadline is December 1, 2016 at 11:59 pm Eastern time. 

Award: $500 travel stipend to attend the Annual Meeting.

Click here for the nomination form or call the AGS office at (212)308-1414 for more information.

Past Recipients of the Edward Henderson Student Award:

2016      Marielle Bolano, BS
2015      Meng Ni, PhD

2014      Ravi B Parikh
2013      Jason Liebowitz

2012      Vivien Sun
2011      Mark Fitzgerald, BS
2010      Carolyn P. Horney, MS-IV
2009      Elizabeth Kwo, BA
2008      Shayna Rich
2007      Andrew D. McWilliams, MPH, MS-III
2006      Juliesa Pavon, MS-3
2005      Christopher Allen Jones, MS
2004      Thomasina Lynn Bailey
2003      Kathleen Tschantz Unroe
2002      Katherine S. Garman
2001      Joy E. Cuezze
2000      Amit A. Shah
1999      Lillian Chiang
1999      Sonja L. Talvi
1998      Alayne Kulvicki
1998      James L. Rudolf
1997      Tim R. Willingham, BS
1996      Pamela Kirschner
1995      Janelle Marie Nantkes
1995      Laura Bodin

Your Gateway to the American Geriatrics Society Products and Publications