AGS State Affiliates | Find a Geriatrics Health Care Provider

Nascher/Manning Award

Ignatz Leo Nascher, MD (1863-1944) argued that the disease and medical care of the aged should be considered a separate specialty, for which he coined the term "geriatrics" in 1909.

Purpose: The intent of this award is to honor Dr. Nascher's pioneering work in the field of geriatrics, by recognizing an individual with distinguished, life-long achievement in clinical geriatrics, including medicine, psychiatry, and all other relevant disciplines. The awardee may have achieved distinction in clinical geriatrics through activities such as innovative program development or administration of outstanding clinical programs.

Nomination Process: Nominations should consist of a letter of nomination, with at least one additional letter of support from colleagues, and the nominee's curriculum vitae. The nomination letter should specifically address how the individual's accomplishments relate to the purpose of the award.

This bi-annual award will be offered again in 2018.  The submission deadline will be December 1, 2017 at 11:59 pm Eastern time. 

Award: Travel expenses to attend the AGS Annual Meeting

Click here for the nomination form or call the AGS office at (212) 308-1414 for more information

Past Recipients of the Nascher / Manning Award:

2016      William Hazzard, MD, AGSF
2014      Paul McGann, MD
2012      Joseph G Ouslander, MD AGSF 
2010      Mathy Mezey, EdD, RN, FAAN
2008      Jeffrey B. Halter, MD
2006      Patricia P. Barry, MD, MPH
2004      Kenneth L. Minaker
2002      John Morley, MB, B.Ch
2000      Peter Boling, MD
1998      Joanne D. Lynn, MD, MA, MS
1996      T. Franklin Williams, MD
1994      Leo M. Cooney, Jr., MD
1992      Paul Haber, MD
1989      Amasa Ford, MD
1987      Leslie Libow, MD

Your Gateway to the American Geriatrics Society Products and Publications