AGS State Affiliates | Find a Geriatrics Health Care Provider

AGS New Investigator Awards

The New Investigator Awards are awarded to individuals whose original research, as presented in a submitted abstract, reflects new and relevant research in geriatrics, and are designed to recognize individuals who are committed to a career in aging research. 

These awards are sponsored by a pharmaceutical company and the AGS is required by law to report transfers of value, such as awards, to CMS per the Physician Payment Sunshine Act.  Eleven awards will be presented at the 2017 AGS Annual Scientific Meeting.

ELIGIBILITY: The New Investigator Awards are open to junior investigators in medicine (i.e., MD geriatricians, internal medicine, family medicine, psychiatry etc.), nursing, social work, pharmacy, dentistry, psychology, physical or occupational therapy with a faculty appointment of no more than five years, or, if a visiting scholar, no more than five years since the completion of post-graduate training and a demonstrated focus on aging/geriatrics research during the period of faculty appointment. The awards are intended to recognize the applicant's work in geriatrics, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing and all other relevant disciplines. The work reported must not have been published or presented at other national meetings. Applicants must be able to demonstrate a commitment to a research career in geriatrics as evidenced by research fellowship training or advanced degree training such as MPH, MS, PhD, etc. and a research focus related to aging or geriatrics during training. Applicants must demonstrate evidence of a record of accomplishments in aging/geriatrics research, such as: a) at least one first-author original aging/geriatrics research publication (not a review article); b) pilot funding awards for aging/geriatrics research; c) previous abstracts describing research investigations; d) at least two poster/oral presentations of aging research at national meeting; or e) at least one research grant submitted as principal investigator. Applicants must also demonstrate evidence of a career plan related to aging research.

SCOPE AND DEFINITION: Topics are invited in basic research, clinical investigation, clinical medicine, and public health, as well as research in the fundamental neurosciences. No case studies or clinical vignettes will be considered. Awards will be chosen based on originality, scientific merit, relevance of the research, as well as the applicant's demonstrated commitment to and accomplishments in aging research.

By submitting an abstract for consideration, the investigator agrees to allow the committee the option to select the entry for presentation as a research paper or poster and agrees to make the presentation him/herself.

APPLICATION PROCESS: Applications must include the candidate's biosketch (NIH-style, 4 pages maximum), the research abstract, applicant letter, and three letters of recommendation. Abstracts must be submitted electronically. Click here for the abstract submission site. The biosketch and letters may be sent to the AGS office at, 40 Fulton St., 18th Floor, New York, NY 10038, or uploaded using the nomination form, and should attest to the applicant's primary role in the research, the importance and significance of the studies as well as the general research accomplishments of the investigator. 

The awards submission deadline is December 1, 2016 at 11:59 pm Eastern time. 

AWARD: $1,500-these funds are intended, in part, to cover awardees' travel expenses to attend the AGS Annual Meeting.

Click here for the nomination form or call the AGS office at (212)308-1414 for more information.

Past Recipients of the AGS New Investigator Award:

2016 Awardees
Lauren E. Ferrante, MD
Lee A. Jennings, MD, MSHS
David S.H. Lee, PharmD, PhD
Neelesh Nadkarni, Md, PhD, FRCPC
Nancy Schoenborn, MD
Anne Suskind, MD, MS

2015 Awardees
Jennifer Lai, MD, MBA
Michael LaMantia, MD, MPH
Una Makris, MD
John Newman, MD, PhD
Ryota Sakurai, PT, PhD

2014 Awardees
Ryan Greysen
Zachary Marcum
Bianca Buurman, RN, PhD
John A. Batsis, MD, FACP
John Dodson
Terrence E. Murphy, PhD

2013 Awardees
Peter Abadir, MD
C. Barrett Bowling, MD
Rebecca Brown, MD, MPH
Gelareh Gabayan, MD, MSHS

2012 Awardees
Christina Bell, MD, MSc
Noll Campbell, PharmD, FASCP, BCPP
Sandy Chang, MD
Dr. Oddom Demontiero MD, FRACP
Mieke Deschodt, RN, MSc, PhD student
Constance H. Fung, MD
Sei J. Lee, MD, MAS
Matthew T. Rondina, M.D.

2011 Awardees
Theresa A. Allison, MD, PhD
Laurie Archbald-Pannone, MD,  PhD
Marian Betz, MD,  PH
William Hung, MD, MPH
Toru Okura, MD, MSc
Kalpana P. Padala, MD, MS
Krupa Shah, MD, MPH

2010 Awardees   
Sarah D. Berry, MD, MPH
Sascha Dublin, MD, PhD
Jane L. Givens, MD, MSCE
Alison J. Huang, MD
Supriya G. Mohile, MD, MS
Esther S. Oh, MD
Ramona L. Rhodes, MD, MPH
Alexander K. Smith, MD, MPH
E. Camille Vaughan, MD, MS

2009 Awardees
Alayne D Markland
Amy S. Kelley
Angelo E. Volandes
Brie A Williams
Liat Ayalon,
Rebecca L Sudore, SFVAMC
S. Nicole Hastings
Sara Elyse Espinoza
Sarwat Chaudhry

2008 Awardees
Alicia I Arbaje, MD, MPH
Carlos A. V. Fragoso, MD
Jalpa A. Doshi, PhD
Kevin M. Terrell, DO, MS
Manuel Montero Odasso, MD
Rachel L. Murkofsky, MD, MPH
Stasa Tadic, MD
Vineet M. Arora, MD

2007 Awardees
Cynthia J. Brown, MD, MSPH
Cynthia M. Boyd, MD, MPH
Heather E. Whitson, MD
Mara A. Schonberg, MD
Marsha N. Wittink, MD, MBE
Prasad R. Padala, MD
Roee Holtzer, PhD

2006 Awardees
Aanand D. Naik, MD
David M. Dosa, MD
Elbert S. Huang, MD
John A. Taylor, III, MD
Kaycee M. Sink, MD, MS
Lillian Min, MD
Lynn McNicoll, MD
Sean X. Leng, MD, PhD

2005 awardees
Benjamin Mast, PhD
Cynthia Carlsson, MD
James Rudolph, MD, BS
Jennifer Brach, PT, PhD
Malaz Boustani, MD, MPH
Patricia Coleman, PhD, RN, APRN
Ram Miller, MDCM, Msc
Renuka Visvanathan, MBBS, PhD

2004 awardees
Cara Tannenbaum, MDCM, FRCPC
Caterina Rosano, MD, MPH
David Sengstock, MD
Gohar Azhar, MD
Hsu-Ko Kuo, MD, MPH
Michael Weiner, MD, MPH
Nathan E. Goldstein, MD
Tomohiko Urano, MD, PhD

Your Gateway to the American Geriatrics Society Products and Publications