AGS State Affiliates | Find a Geriatrics Health Care Provider

American Geriatrics Society Announces 2014 Award Winners

NEW YORK Each year the American Geriatrics Society celebrates researchers, clinicians, educators, and trainees who have made outstanding contributions to advancing the care of older adults. We are pleased to announce the professionals who will be recognized at AGS’ 2014 Annual Scientific Meeting, scheduled May 15-17, in Orlando, Florida.

Henderson Award
Michael Rich, MD, AGSF
Washington University
Outstanding Scientific Achievement for Clinical Investigation Award
XinQi Dong, MD, MPH
Rush University
Clinician of the Year Award
Pamela Tronetti, DO, AGSF
Parish Medical Center

Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award
Elizabeth Tanner, PhD, RN
Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing

Nascher Manning Award
Paul E. McGann, MD
Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award
William Greenough, III, MD, FACP
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
David H. Solomon Memorial Public Service Award
Corinne H. Rieder, EdD

New Investigator Awards
Bianca Buurman RN, PhD
S. Ryan Greysen, MD, MHS
Zachary Marcum, PharmD
John Batsis, MD
John Dodson, MD
Terrence Murphy, PhD

Edward J. Henderson Student Award
Ravi Parikh, MD
Harvard Medical School

Clinical Student Research Award
Julie Thai
Michigan State University

Lucille Brunker
University of Utah

Scientist-in-Training Research Award
Rebecca Affoo, PhD Candidate
Western University

Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year Award
Sarah Berry, MD, MPH
Institute for Aging Research affiliated with Harvard Medical School

Outstanding Junior Research Manuscript Award
S. Ryan Greysen, MD
University of California San Francisco

Outstanding Junior Clinical Teacher of the Year Award
Danelle Cayea, MD, MS
John Hopkins University School of Medicine

Outstanding Mid-career Clinical Teacher of the Year Award
Louise Aronson, MD
University of California San Francisco

Outstanding Junior Clinical Education Manuscript Award
Erika Manu, MD
Veterans Affairs Ann Arbor Healthcare System

An award ceremony will be held on Friday, May 16. Incoming AGS President Wayne McCormick, MD, MPH, will present the awards. Following the award ceremony, XinQi Dong, MD, MPH, will deliver the Outstanding Scientific Achievement for Clinical Investigation Award Lecture. Dr. Dong’s lecture will describe the epidemiology of elder abuse and how research can inform practice and health policy to improve the health and wellbeing of an vulnerable population.

About the American Geriatrics Society
Founded in 1942, the American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is a non-profit organization of over 6,200 healthcare professionals whose shared mission is to improve the health, independence and quality of life of older people. Our vision for the future is that all older adults will have access to quality healthcare that meets their unique needs. To achieve this, the AGS focuses on: educating all healthcare professionals about the special healthcare needs of older adults; advancing aging research; enhancing clinical care for older people; raising public awareness of seniors' healthcare needs; and advocating for public policy that ensures older adults have access to high quality, appropriate, cost-effective care. The AGS is a pivotal force in shaping practices, policies and perspectives in the field of older adult health and wellness.

Your Gateway to the American Geriatrics Society Products and Publications