State Affiliates

The AGS State Affiliates offer professional education, networking and advocacy at your local state level. Since the program was launched in 1991, the AGS state affiliates have proven to be an effective force for increasing the quality of geriatrics education and shaping healthcare legislation.

The Council of State Affiliate Representatives (COSAR) is the governing body of the AGS State Affiliates. To learn more about COSAR, contact amorris@americangeriatrics.org

Download the State Affiliate HandbookClick here to access State Affiliate templates, tools and resources. 

 

Select your state below to learn more. Don't see your state listed? Start your own. Contact: amorris@americangeriatrics.org 

State Affiliates

Arizona

President
     Rosemary Browne, MD
     Rsbrowne.md@gmail.com 

Contact
     602.529.3529
     info@azgs.org

Membership Dues
     Individuals- Doctoral Level: $100
     Individuals- Allied Professional Level: $75
     Healthcare Affiliate (Company Membership): $300
     Retiree Affiliate: $50
     Residents & Fellows: $30
     Student Affiliates: $15

Arkansas

Contact information
     Priya Mendiratta, MD, MPH
     pmendiratta@uams.edu 
     501-658-3320

     Ann T. Riggs, MD
     riggsannt@uams.edu

 

California

President & AGS Representative
     Diane L. Chau, MD
     dianechaumd@yahoo.com

Membership Dues
     Students: Free
     All Other Members: $25

Connecticut

President
     Sharon Massafra, MBA, CSA, CMC, CDP
     sharon@seniorcaremgmt.com
     203-767-0018

AGS Representative
     Barney Spivack, MD
     barney.spivack@optum.com
     203-222-6082

Vice President
     Rafel Sgammato, MBA, NMT, MT-BC, CDP

Treasurer
     Heather Gately

Secretary
     Shanon Jordan, LMSW

Immediate Past President
     Joan Garbow, MSW, LCSW, CCM
     joan@garbow.com

Membership Dues
     Individuals: $50, January 1 - December 31
     Corporate Membership: $100, January 1 - December 31
     For more information, contact Ryan Ventura, BA at rventura@firstlighthomecare.com.

Florida

President
     Debra A. Danforth, DNP, APRN, FAANP

President-Elect
     F. Michael Gloth III, MD, FACP, AGSF, CMD

Secretary/Treasurer
   Gregory Sullivan, MD, FAPA

Immediate Past President
   Ronald Garry, MD, FACP, AGSF
 
Past President
   Niharika Suchak, MBBS, MHS, FACP, AGSF

Board Member-at-Large
   John Agens, MD

Board Member-at-Large
   Jonathan S. Appelbaum, MD, FACP

Board Member-at-Large
   Bethan Roberts, PhD

Board Member-at-Large
   Madetric N. Wood, APRN-BC

Educational Program Chair
   Jonathan Stewart, MD, DLFAPA, AGSF

FGS Executive Director-Staff
   Peggy Crowley  exec@floridageriatricssociety.org

Membership Dues
     Physician: $120 (1 yr. beginning on Jan. 1)
     Physician Lifetime: $995 
     Allied Health Professional: $95 (1 yr. beginning on Jan. 1)
     Allied Health Professional Lifetime: $995
     Medical Student, Resident, or Fellow (Member in Training): $25 (1 yr. beginning on Jan. 1)
     Student (Nursing, PA, Pharmacy, Psychology, Social work, Dietetics): $25 (1 yr. beginning on Jan. 1)

Illinois

President
     Anthony J. Perry, MD, CMD
     anthony_j_perry@rush.edu

Membership Dues
     Physicians: $70
     Health Care Professionals: $45
     Interim, Associates: $15
     Retired, Emeritus, Students: Free

Indiana

President
    Tamara Wolske, MS, MPhil, CPG, CSA 

Vice-President
     Todd James, MD, AGSF

Past-President
     Chris Redmond

Membership Dues
     Participants: $50
     Associate Participants (student, intern, resident, fellow): $25

Kentucky

President
     Laura Morton, MD, CMD
     laura.morton@louisville.edu

AGS Representative
     Christian Davis Furman, MD
     cdfurm02@louisville.edu
     (502) 852-1998

Membership Dues
    Active MD: $50
    Other Health Professional, Retired MD: $30
    Student/Resident: Free

Louisiana

President
     Susila Shanmuganathan, MD, CMD

Education Coordinator, Louisiana Geriatrics Society
     Teresa Garrison, MD

President-elect
     Lobna Ali, MD, CMD

AGS Representative
    Thomas Reske
    treske@lsuhsc.edu

Membership Dues
     General Members: $50
     Corporate/Organization: $150

Contact
     louisianageriatricssociety@gmail.com

Maine

President
    Heidi Wierman, MD
    wiermh@mmc.org

Vice President
     Cliff Singer, MD
     csinger@emhs.org

Secretary, Treasurer and COSAR Respresentative
     Sarah Hallen, MD
     halles@mmc.org

Immediate Past President
     Judith A. Metcalf, APRN, BC, MS
      jmetcalf@une.edu

Board Members
     Annette Beyea, DO, MPH
     Stephen H. Doane, MD
     Sharon Foerster, MSW, LCSW
     E. Victoria Grover, PA-C
     Charles F. Reynolds III, MD
     Rhonda Selvin, APRN, CNP

Massachusetts

President & AGS Representative
     Richard M. Dupee, MD, AGSF, FACP
     rdupee@tuftsmedicalcenter.org
     (781) 235-9089

Membership Dues
     All Members: $50

Metropolitan Washington DC

President
    Nicholas J. Schor, MD
    njschor.md@gmail.com

AGS Representative
     Robert Jayes, MD
    rjayes@mfa.gwu.edu

Membership Dues
     Physicians: $35
     Other Health Professionals: $20
     Resident/Trainees: $5
     Students: Free

Michigan

Co-Founder, Michigan Geriatrics Society
     Theodore T. Suh, MD, PhD, MHS, AGSF
     tedsuh@med.umich.edu

Co-Founder, Michigan Geriatrics Society
     Caroline Vitale, MD, AGSF
     cavitale@med.umich.edu

Co-Founder, Michigan Geriatrics Society
     David Sengstock, MD
     David.Sengstock@beaumont.org

Minnesota

President 
    Emily Downing, MD 

Executive Director
     Heidi Holste
     info@minnesotageriatrics.org

Treasurer/Secretary
     Teresa McCarthy, MD, CMD 

AGS Representative
     Terri McCarthy, MD
     mccar056@umn.edu

President Elect
     Cathy Lauring, APRN, CNP

Past President
     Roberta Meyers, MD, MPH

Membership Dues
     New Member: $75
     Renewing Member: $125
     New Facility Member: $100 (two members at a facility)
     Existing Facility Members: $150 (two members at a facility)

Nevada

AGS Representative
     Upinder Singh, MD
     usinghmd@yahoo.com

Membership Dues
     Coming Soon

New Jersey

President
     Paul N. Bryman, DO, FACOI, AGSF, CMD
     pbryman@gmail.com
     (732) 574-9015

AGS Representative
     Benjamin D. Lessig, DO
     office@drbenjaminlessig.com
     (732) 574-9015

Membership Dues
     All Members: $50

Contact Info on joining NJGS
     Maureen Ziegler 
    718-574-9434 x105

NY Metro Area

Contact Information
     MAGS Administration
     magsadmin@gmail.com
     (646) 470-MAGS

AGS Representative 
     Saima Ajmal, MD
     saima.ajmal@nyumc.org

Membership Dues (includes admission to all 5 events and dinners)
     Attending Physicians (including fellows): $150
     Allied Health Professionals: $150

Ohio

President
     Ronan Factora, MD
     factorr@ccf.org

COSAR Representative
     Tanya Gure, MD
     tanya.gure@osumc.edu

Treasurer
     Steve Swedlund, MD

Secretary
     Donald O. Mack, MD, FAAFP, AGSF, CMD 

Membership Dues
     Practicing Physicians: $50
     Other Health Professionals: $35
     Students, Residents, Fellows, Retired: $10

Oregon

President
     Preston Peterson, MD, FACP
     prestonpet@gmail.com

Executive Director
     Mary Olhausen
     omary52@comcast.net
     (360) 892-1814

COSAR Rep
     Lisa Miura
     Miural@hotmail.com

Membership Dues
     Doctoral and Master’s Prepared Health Care Providers: $110.00
     Other Health Care Providers: $75.00
     Health Care Professionals in Training/Students: Free

Pennsylvania - Eastern

President 
     Victor Rose, MBA, NHA, FCCP, CPASRM
     vrose@ecri.org

AGS Representative 
     TBA
     TBA

Events Director
     Nancy Carpey
     nancy@epgeriatricssociety.org
     (610) 812-1583 

Membership Dues
     Annual Membership: $75
     Students, Residents, and Fellows: $60  

Pennsylvania - Western

President
     Christine Herb, MD
     christine.herb@ahn.org
     (412) 235-5810

COSAR Representative
     Neil Resnick, MD
     resnickn@pitt.edu
     (412) 692-2364

Secretary & Treasurer
     Judith S. Black, MD, MHA
     blackjs352@gmail.com

Membership Dues
     MD, DO, RN, CRNP or Other Healthcare Professionals: $75
     Post-Doctoral: $25
     Residents: Free for length of training
     Students: Free for length of training

South Carolina

President
     Jean K. Pals, RN,BC, BSN
     jean.pals@va.gov
     (803) 776-4000 ext 6266

Membership Dues
     Coming Soon!

Tennessee

President
     Ralf Habermann
     ralf.habermann@vanderbilt.edu
     (615) 936-3215

Secretary, Treasurer & COSAR Representative
     James Powers
     James.powers@vanderbilt.edu
     (615) 936-3274

Membership Dues
     All Members: $50

Texas

Executive Director
     Maggie Hayden
     maggie@texasgeriatrics.org 

AGS COSAR Representative & President
     Lesca Hadley, MD
     lhadley@jpshealth.org

TGS Membership Dues
     Physicians: $75.00
     Licensed Health Care Professionals: $37.50
     Resident Physicians: Free
     Students: Free

TGS/TMDA Joint Membership
     Doctors: $135.00
     Health Care Professionals: $67.50

Utah

President
     John Lassere 

President Elect
     Megan Skibitsky

Secretary
     Heather Podolan

Treasurer
     Rob Ence

Membership Dues
     Physician: $50
     Associated Health: $50
     Students, Residents, Geriatric Fellows: Free

Virginia

President & AGS Representative
     Peter Boling, MD
     pboling@mcvh-vcu.edu
     (804) 828-5323

Executive Director
     Beverly Baker
     beverly.baker@med.va.gov

Membership Dues
     All Members: $50

West Virginia

President
     David P. Elliott, PharmD, FASCP, FCCP, AGSF, BCGP 
    304-306-0771

COSAR Representative/ AGS Representative
     David P. Elliott, PharmD, FASCP, FCCP, AGSF, BCGP
     304-306-0771

Membership Dues:
     Individual: $50
     Associate (fellows, students, residents, retired): $35

Address:
     2102 21st St
     Nitro, WV 25143-1726