State Affiliates

The AGS State Affiliates offer professional education, networking and advocacy at your local state level. Since the program was launched in 1991, the AGS state affiliates have proven to be an effective force for increasing the quality of geriatrics education and shaping healthcare legislation.

The Council of State Affiliate Representatives (COSAR) is the governing body of the AGS State Affiliates. To learn more about COSAR, contact amorris@americangeriatrics.org

Download the State Affiliate HandbookClick here to access State Affiliate templates, tools and resources. 
Congratulations to our 2019 State Affiliate Achievement Awardee- The Minnesota Association of Geriatrics Inspired Clinicians!awardees

 

Select your state below to learn more. Don't see your state listed? Start your own. Contact: amorris@americangeriatrics.org 

State Affiliates

Arizona

President
     Rosemary Browne, MD
     Rsbrowne.md@gmail.com 

Contact
     602.529.3529
     info@azgs.org

Membership Dues
     Individuals- Doctoral Level: $160
     Individuals- Allied Professional Level: $145
     Healthcare Affiliates: $325
     Retiree Affiliate: $65
     Residents & Fellows: $65
     Student Affiliates: $15

Arkansas

Contact information
     Priya Mendiratta, MD, MPH
     pmendiratta@uams.edu 
     501-658-3320

     Ann T. Riggs, MD
     riggsannt@uams.edu

 

California

President & AGS Representative
     Diane L. Chau, MD
     dianechaumd@yahoo.com

Membership Dues
     Students: Free
     All Other Members: $25

Connecticut

President
     Sharon Massafra, MBA, CSA, CMC, CDP
     sharon@seniorcaremgmt.com
     203-767-0018

AGS Representative
     Barney Spivack, MD
     barney.spivack@optum.com
     203-222-6082

Vice President
     Rafel Sgammato, MBA, NMT, MT-BC, CDP

Treasurer
     To be announced

Secretary
     Shanon Jordan, LMSW

Immediate Past President
     Joan Garbow, MSW, LCSW, CCM
     joan@garbow.com

Membership Dues
     Individuals: $50, July 1 - June 30
     Corporate Membership: $100, July 1 - June 30
     For more information, contact Ryan Ventura, BA at rventura@firstlighthomecare.com.

Florida

President
     Ronald Garry, MD
     ron@rgarry.com

President Elect
     Deborah Danforth, APRN

Executive Director
     Peggy Crowley
     Exec@floridageriatricssociety.org
     813.996.0322

Membership Dues
     Physicians: $120
     Health Care Professionals: $95
     Fellows, Residents, Students: Free

Illinois

President
     Anthony J. Perry, MD, CMD
     anthony_j_perry@rush.edu

Membership Dues
     Physicians: $70
     Health Care Professionals: $45
     Interim, Associates: $15
     Retired, Emeritus, Students: Free

Indiana

President
    Chris Redmond
    redmond50@gmail.com 

Past-President
     Noll Campbell, PharmD, CGP
     campbenl@iupui.edu

Membership Dues
     Participants: $50
     Associate Participants (student, intern, resident, fellow): $25

Kentucky

President
     Laura Morton, MD, CMD
     laura.morton@louisville.edu

AGS Representative
     Christian Davis Furman, MD
     cdfurm02@louisville.edu
     (502) 852-1998

Membership Dues
    Active MD: $50
    Other Health Professional, Retired MD: $30
    Student/Resident: Free

Louisiana

Education Coordinator, Louisiana Geriatrics Society
     Dale Welch, PhD
     lgswelch@comcast.net 
     (308) 355-2297

AGS Representative
    Thomas Reske
    treske@lsuhsc.edu

Membership Dues
     General Members: $50
     Corporate/Organization: $150

Maine

President
    Heidi Wierman, MD
    wiermh@mmc.org

Vice President
     Cliff Singer, MD
     csinger@emhs.org

Secretary, Treasurer and COSAR Respresentative
     Sarah Hallen, MD
     halles@mmc.org

Immediate Past President
     Judith A. Metcalf, APRN, BC, MS
      jmetcalf@une.edu

Board Members
     Annette Beyea, DO, MPH
     Stephen H. Doane, MD
     Sharon Foerster, MSW, LCSW
     E. Victoria Grover, PA-C
     Charles F. Reynolds III, MD
     Rhonda Selvin, APRN, CNP

Massachusetts

President & AGS Representative
     Richard M. Dupee, MD, AGSF, FACP
     rdupee@tuftsmedicalcenter.org
     (781) 235-9089

Membership Dues
     All Members: $50

Metropolitan Washington DC

President
    Nicholas J. Schor, MD
    njschor.md@gmail.com

AGS Representative
     Robert Jayes, MD
    rjayes@mfa.gwu.edu

Membership Dues
     Physicians: $35
     Other Health Professionals: $20
     Resident/Trainees: $5
     Students: Free

Michigan

Co-Founder, Michigan Geriatrics Society
     Theodore T. Suh, MD, PhD, MHS, AGSF
     tedsuh@med.umich.edu

Co-Founder, Michigan Geriatrics Society
     Caroline Vitale, MD, AGSF
     cavitale@med.umich.edu

Co-Founder, Michigan Geriatrics Society
     David Sengstock, MD
     David.Sengstock@beaumont.org

Minnesota

President 
    Roberta Meyers, MD
    roberta.meyers@hcmed.org

Executive Director
     Rosemary Lobeck
     rlobeck@mnmedddir.org
     (952) 929-9398 

Treasurer/Secretary
     Teresa McCarthy, MD
     mccar056@umn.edu

AGS Representative
     Terri McCarthy, MD
     mccar056@umn.edu

President Elect
     Emily Downing, MD
     Emily.Downing@allina.com

Past President
     Jane Pederson, MD, MS
     jpederson@stratishealth.org

Membership Dues
     MD Members: $150
     Other Health Professional/ Associate Members: $40
     Fall Conference Tuition: $150

Nevada

AGS Representative
     Upinder Singh, MD
     usinghmd@yahoo.com

Membership Dues
     Coming Soon

New Jersey

President
     Paul N. Bryman, DO, FACOI, AGSF, CMD
     pbryman@gmail.com
     (732) 574-9015

AGS Representative
     Benjamin D. Lessig, DO
     office@drbenjaminlessig.com
     (732) 574-9015

Membership Dues
     All Members: $50

Contact Info on joining NJGS
     Maureen Ziegler 
    718-574-9434 x105

NY Metro Area

Contact Information
     MAGS Administration
     magsadmin@gmail.com
     (646) 470-MAGS

AGS Representative 
     Saima Ajmal, MD
     saima.ajmal@nyumc.org

Membership Dues (includes admission to all 5 events and dinners)
     Attending Physicians (including fellows): $150
     Allied Health Professionals: $150

Ohio

President
     Jeff Milks, MD
     Jwmilks@aol.com
     (614) 933-9100

COSAR Representative
     Tanya Gure, MD
     tanya.gure@osumc.edu

Treasurer
     Steve Swedlund, MD, FACP, AGSF

Secretary
     Ronan Factora, MD

Membership Dues
     Practicing Physicians: $50
     Other Health Professionals: $35
     Students, Residents, Fellows, Retired: $10

Oregon

President
     Preston Peterson, MD, FACP
     prestonpet@gmail.com

Executive Director
     Mary Olhausen
     omary52@comcast.net
     (360) 892-1814

COSAR Rep
     Lisa Miura
     Miural@hotmail.com

Membership Dues
     Doctoral and Master’s Prepared Health Care Providers: $110.00
     Other Health Care Providers: $75.00
     Health Care Professionals in Training/Students: Free

Pennsylvania - Eastern

President 
     Victor Rose, MBA, NHA, FCCP, CPASRM
     vrose@ecri.org

AGS Representative 
     TBA
     TBA

Events Director
     Nancy Carpey
     nancy@epgeriatricssociety.org
     (610) 812-1583 

Membership Dues
     Annual Membership: $75
     Students, Residents, and Fellows: $60  

Pennsylvania - Western

President
     Namita Ahuja, MD
     ahujan2@upmc.edu
     (412) 454-5406

COSAR Representative
     Neil Resnick, MD
     resnickn@pitt.edu
     (412) 692-2364

Secretary & Treasurer
     Judith S. Black, MD, MHA
     blackjs352@gmail.com

Membership Dues
     MD, DO, RN, CRNP or Other Healthcare Professionals: $75
     Post-Doctoral: $25
     Residents: Free for length of training
     Students: Free for length of training

South Carolina

President
     Jean K. Pals, RN,BC, BSN
     jean.pals@va.gov
     (803) 776-4000 ext 6266

Membership Dues
     Coming Soon!

Tennessee

President
     Ralf Habermann
     ralf.habermann@vanderbilt.edu
     (615) 936-3215

Secretary, Treasurer & COSAR Representative
     James Powers
     James.powers@vanderbilt.edu
     (615) 936-3274

Membership Dues
     All Members: $50

Texas

Executive Director
     Maggie Hayden
     maggie@texasgeriatrics.org 

AGS COSAR Representative & President
     Lesca Hadley, MD
     lhadley@jpshealth.org

TGS Membership Dues
     Physicians: $75.00
     Licensed Health Care Professionals: $37.50
     Resident Physicians: Free
     Students: Free

TGS/TMDA Joint Membership
     Doctors: $135.00
     Health Care Professionals: $67.50

Utah

President
     Michael Galindo, MD

Secretary & Treasurer
     Kimberly Danise

Immediate Past President
     Florentino Abueg, MD

Membership Dues
     Physician: $50
     Allied Health: $30
     Trainees: Free with student documentation
     Organizational: $250 for up to 4 members

Virginia

President & AGS Representative
     Peter Boling, MD
     pboling@mcvh-vcu.edu
     (804) 828-5323

Executive Director
     Beverly Baker
     beverly.baker@med.va.gov

Membership Dues
     All Members: $50

West Virginia

President
     J.T. Hunter
     jhunter@alz.org
     304-343-2717

COSAR Representative
     David Elliott, PharmD, AGSF, BCGP
     delliott@hsc.wvu.edu
     303-347-1327

AGS Representative
     Julie Hewett, CMP, CAE
     jkhewett@WVGeriatrics.org
     304-370-3200

Membership Dues:
     Individual: $35
     Associate: $15
     Honorary: Free
     Institutional: $500