AGS Honors Expert & Emerging Geriatrics Leaders at 2016 Annual Scientific Meeting

New York (April 11, 2016)—The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) annually honors researchers, clinicians, educators, and emerging health professionals who have made outstanding contributions to high-quality, patient-centered care for older adults. This year’s award recipients include more than 15 leaders representing the breadth of disciplines championing elder care in the U.S.

Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award for Practicing Doctors

  • Laura Iglesias Lino, MD (Baystate Medical Center, Tufts University School of Medicine)

Choosing Wisely® Champion Awards

  • Heidi-Ann Courtney, PA-C (Baystate Medical Center)
  • Ariel R. Green, MD, MPH (Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine)

Clinician of the Year Award

  • Lisa Tank, MD, FACP (Hackensack University Medical Center; Rutgers New Jersey Medical Center)

Clinical Student Research Award

  • Margaret Puelle, BS (University of Michigan)

David H. Solomon Memorial Public Service Award

  • Thomas T. Yoshikawa, MD, AGSF (Editor-in-Chief, Journal of the American Geriatrics Society; Veterans Affairs Greater Los Angeles Health Care System; University of California at Los Angeles; Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science)

Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award

  • Annette (Annie) Medina-Walpole, MD, AGSF (University of Rochester)

Edward Henderson Award

  • Christopher Callahan, MD (Indiana University; IU Center for Aging Research; Regenstrief Institute)

Edward Henderson Student Award

  • Marielle Celis Bolano, BS (University of California, Davis School of Medicine)

Nascher/Manning Award

  • William Hazzard, MD, AGSF (Wake Forest School of Medicine)

New Investigator Award

  • Lauren E. Ferrante, MD (Yale School of Medicine)
  • Lee A. Jennings, MD, MSHS (University of California, Los Angeles)
  • David S.H. Lee, PharmD, PhD (Oregon Health and Science University; Oregon State University)
  • Neelesh Nadkarni, MD, PhD, FRCPC (University of Pittsburgh Medical Center)
  • Nancy Schoenborn, MD (Johns Hopkins School of Medicine)
  • Anne Suskind, MD, MS (University of California, San Francisco)

Outstanding Scientific Achievement for Clinical Investigation Award

  • Mara Schonberg, MD, MPH (Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center; Harvard Medical School)

Outstanding Mid-Career Clinician Educator of the Year Award

  • Anna Chang, MD (University of California, San Francisco)

Outstanding Junior Clinician Educator of the Year Award

  • Jessica Colburn, MD (Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine) 

Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year Award

  • Rebecca Brown, MD, MPH (San Francisco VA Medical Center; University of California, San Francisco)
  • S. Ryan Greysen, MD, MHS, MA, FHM (University of California, San Francisco)

Outstanding Junior Research Manuscript Award

  • Rebecca Brown, MD, MPH (San Francisco VA Medical Center; University of California, San Francisco)

Scientist-in-Training Research Award

  • Andrew Zullo, PharmD, ScM (Brown University School of Public Health)

Presidential Poster Award Recipients

  • Thiago Avelino-Silva
  • Zahava Brodt
  • Nathaniel Chin
  • Allyson Cook
  • Adam Dilich
  • Yetunde Fatade
  • George Ioannidis
  • Jane Jih
  • Dae Kim
  • Jennifer Makelarski
  • Melanie Mercer
  • Gregory Ouellet
  • Mariel Pullman
  • Pooja Rajguru
  • Sheryl Ramdass
  • Tacara Soones
  • Rotem Tellem
  • Irina Vovnoboy
  • Joshua Waytz
  • Marc Weinberg

About the American Geriatrics Society

Founded in 1942, the American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is a nationwide, not-for-profit society of geriatrics healthcare professionals dedicated to improving the health, independence, and quality of life of older people. Its nearly 6,000 members include geriatricians, geriatric nurses, social workers, family practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and internists. The Society provides leadership to healthcare professionals, policymakers, and the public by implementing and advocating for programs in patient care, research, professional and public education, and public policy. For more information, visit

About the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting

The AGS Annual Scientific Meeting is the premier educational event in geriatrics, providing the latest information on clinical care, research on aging, and innovative models of care delivery. More than 2,000 physicians, nurses, pharmacists, physician assistants, social workers, long-term care and managed care providers, healthcare administrators, and others will convene May 19-21, 2016 (pre-conference program on May 18), at the Long Beach Convention and Entertainment Center in Long Beach, Calif., to advance geriatrics knowledge and skills through state-of-the-art educational sessions and research presentations.

Back to Top