AGS Honors Expert & Emerging Geriatrics Leaders at 2018 Annual Scientific Meeting (#AGS18)

New York (April 12, 2018)—The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) annually honors researchers, clinicians, educators, and emerging health professionals who have made outstanding contributions to high-quality, person-centered care for older people. This year’s award recipients include more than 20 leaders representing the breadth of disciplines championing care for us all as we age.

Choosing Wisely® Champion Award

  • Alina Sibley, APRN, BC (Baystate Medical Center)

Clinician of the Year Award

  • J. Eugene Lammers, MD, MPH, FACP, AGSF (Mercy LIFE of Alabama)

Clinical Student Research Award

  • Michael Liu (University of Arizona, Harvard University)

David H. Solomon Memorial Public Service Award

  • John R. Burton, MD, AGSF (Johns Hopkins School of Medicine)
  • George W. Drach, MD, AGSF (Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania; College of Medicine, University of Arizona)

Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award

  • Jane Potter, MD, AGSF (University of Nebraska Medical Center)

Edward Henderson Award

  • Bruce A. Leff, MD, AGSF (Johns Hopkins Medicine, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health)

Edward Henderson Student Award

  • Sonia Marcello (University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine)

Humana Value-Based Care Research Award

  • Austin J. Hilt, MPH (Northeast Ohio Medical University)
  • Morteza Komeylian, MD (University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston)

Jeffrey H. Silverstein Memorial Award for Emerging Investigators in the Surgical and Related Medical Specialties

  • Tony Rosen, MD, MPH (Weill Cornell Medical College)

Nascher/Manning Award

  • William Applegate, MD, MPH, MACP, AGSF (Journal of the American Geriatrics Society, Wake Forest Health, Wake Forest School of Medicine)
  • Thomas Edes, MD, MS (U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs)

New Investigator Awards

  • Lina Ma, MD, PhD (Johns Hopkins University, Xuanwu Hospital)
  • Anil Makam, MD, MAS (University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center)
  • Brienne Miner, MD, MHS (Yale University School of Medicine)
  • Victoria Tang, MD, MAS (University of California, San Francisco)

Outstanding Mid-Career Clinician Educator of the Year Award

  • Amit Shah, MD, FACP, AGSF (Mayo Clinic School of Medicine)

Outstanding Junior Clinician Educator of the Year Award

  • Andrea Wershof Schwartz, MD, MPH (Harvard Medical School, VA Boston Healthcare System, New England GRECC)

Outstanding Junior Clinician Education Manuscript Award

  • Rebecca Brown, MD, MPH (University of California, San Francisco)

Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year Award

  • Neelesh K. Nadkarni, MD, PhD, FRCPC (University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine)
  • John Newman, MD, PhD (Buck Institute for Research on Aging; University of California, San Francisco; San Francisco VA)

Outstanding Junior Research Manuscript Award

  • Benjamin Han, MD, MPH (New York University School of Medicine, Bellevue Hospital Center)

Presidential Poster Awards

  • Case Series & Case Studies: Woody Chang, MD
  • Clinical Innovation & Quality Improvement: Austin Hilt
  • Clinical Trials: Il-Young Jang, PhD, MS
  • Epidemiology: Jennifer Watt, MD
  • Ethics & Qualitative Research: Emma Geduldig
  • Geriatric Bioscience: Sangwoo Kim
  • Geriatric Education: Diane Brown, PhD, CCRN, MSN
  • Geriatric Medicine in Other Specialties: Rasheeda Hall, MD, MBA
  • Geriatric Syndromes: David Lee
  • Health Services & Policy Research: Caroline Thirukumaran, PhD
  • Neurological/Behavioral Sciences: Jo Wilson, MD

Scientist-in-Training Research Award

  • Joshua Niznik, PharmD (University of Pittsburgh)

State Affiliate Achievement Awards

  • Oregon Geriatrics Society
  • Pennsylvania Geriatrics Society (Western Division)

Thomas and Catherine Yoshikawa Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement in Clinical Investigation

  • Heather E. Whitson, MD, MHS (Duke University Medical Center)

About the American Geriatrics Society

Founded in 1942, the American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is a nationwide, not-for-profit society of geriatrics healthcare professionals that has—for more than 75 years—worked to improve the health, independence, and quality of life of older people. Its nearly 6,000 members include geriatricians, geriatric nurses, social workers, family practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and internists. The Society provides leadership to healthcare professionals, policymakers, and the public by implementing and advocating for programs in patient care, research, professional and public education, and public policy. For more information, visit

About the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting

The AGS Annual Scientific Meeting is the premier educational event in geriatrics, providing the latest information on clinical care, research on aging, and innovative models of care delivery. More than 2,500 nurses, pharmacists, physicians, physician assistants, social workers, long-term care and managed care providers, healthcare administrators, and others will convene May 3-5, 2018 (pre-conference program on May 2), at the Walt Disney World® Swan & Dolphin Resort in Orlando, Fla., to advance geriatrics knowledge and skills through state-of-the-art educational sessions and research presentations. For more information, visit