• . @AmerGeriatrics names Dr. Jerry C. Johnson with prestigious Nascher/Manning Award in Geriatrics at #AGS22

New York (April 20, 2022 )—The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) will this year honor past AGS President Jerry C. Johnson, MD, AGSF, of the University of Pennsylvania with the prestigious Nascher/Manning Award, given biannually at the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting (#AGS22 will be held in Orlando May 12 – 14, pre-conference day May 11). Having previously served as Chief of the Division of Geriatric Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine from 2001-2018, Dr. Johnson is now a Professor Emeritus at this institution and he remains committed to health professionals in training through teaching and mentorship. He joins an elite cadre of geriatrics healthcare professionals recognized with the Nascher/Manning Award since its inception in 1987.

“Dr. Johnson was one of the first awardees of a Certificate in Geriatrics Competency by the American Board of Internal Medicine in 1988. The Certificate of Added Qualification recognizes excellence among those Diplomates whose practice emphasizes care for older adults,” noted AGS President Peter Hollmann, MD, AGSF. “Dr. Johnson has devoted his professional life to studying, practicing, and teaching about the ailments that are common among the older population. Through his teaching and clinical care, he has influenced the careers of health professionals from every discipline. He has accelerated the two-way conversations between patients and provider institutions in every setting in which older adults receive care,” added Dr. Hollmann.

As Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Geriatric Medicine Division of the University of Pennsylvania, Dr. Johnson has been a leader in research and education with a special focus on delirium as well as in minority health and community participatory research methods. He was the principal investigator on numerous clinically focused grants as well as training grants. Most recently he served as the principal investigator on a Geriatric Workforce Enhancement Program. In addition to leading many innovative studies and programs, he has achieved prominence as a researcher, distinguished lecturer, and author on issues in geriatrics.

As a board member and the 2002-2003 past President of the American Geriatrics Society, Dr. Johnson was central to the development of the AGS Ethnogeriatrics Committee. He pioneered the development of the AGS resource Doorway Thoughts to help geriatrics healthcare professionals understand how culture may affect the ways patients and their families communicate about their care. He continues to be an AGS leader, acting as Vice Chair of the AGS Health in Aging Foundation since 2010.

Dr. Johnson has been awarded multiple times for his work on behalf of older Americans. He has several “Best Doctor” distinctions and holds fellowships in leading societies, including the American Geriatrics Society, the American College of Physicians, and the Gerontological Society of America. He has been honored with many community service awards.

The Nascher/Manning Award celebrates a geriatrics pioneer like Dr. Johnson, whose work has been foundational for the AGS. Ignatz Leo Nascher, MD, was the first clinician to advocate for establishing a specialty focused on the care of older adults. Through the generosity of the Manning family, Dr. Nascher’s namesake award is one of several honors conferred by the AGS at its Annual Scientific Meeting. The 2022 award recipients include healthcare leaders representing the depth and breadth of disciplines championing better care for us all as we age. For more information, visit


About the American Geriatrics Society
Founded in 1942, the American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is a nationwide, not-for-profit society of geriatrics healthcare professionals that has—for more than 75 years—worked to improve the health, independence, and quality of life of older people. Its nearly 6,000 members include geriatricians, geriatric nurses, social workers, family practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and internists. The Society provides leadership to healthcare professionals, policymakers, and the public by implementing and advocating for programs in patient care, research, professional and public education, and public policy. For more information, visit

About the Health in Aging Foundation
The Health in Aging Foundation is a national non-profit established in 1999 by the American Geriatrics Society to bring the knowledge and expertise of geriatrics healthcare professionals to the public. We are committed to ensuring that people are empowered to advocate for high-quality care by providing them with trustworthy information and reliable resources. Last year, we reached nearly 1 million people with our resources through We also help nurture current and future geriatrics leaders by supporting opportunities to attend educational events and increase exposure to principles of excellence on caring for older adults. For more information or to support the Foundation's work, visit

About the Nascher/Manning Award
Ignatz Leo Nascher, MD, argued that medical care for older adults should be considered a separate specialty, for which he coined the term “geriatrics” in 1909. Through the generosity of the Manning family, the intent of the Nascher/Manning Award is to honor Dr. Nascher’s pioneering work in the field by recognizing an individual with distinguished, life-long achievement in clinical geriatrics

Back to Top