Council Members

The GSI is governed by the specialty council comprised of specialty society representatives and selected geriatricians. Each society appoints representatives to serve on the Council and as liaisons to their society. Societies are responsible for appointing representatives. 

The GSI Executive Committee provides ongoing oversight of project activities and planning. The Executive Committee meets bi-monthly via conference call and is chaired by G. Michael Harper, MD, AGSF and Thomas Robinson, MD. The council also meets in-person yearly at the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting.

Executive Committee

G. Michael Harper, MD, AGSF
Professor of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco

Thomas Robinson, MD
Chief of Surgery, Professor
University of Colorado

Teresita Hogan, MD
Associate Professor
University of Chicago

Ronnie Rosenthal, MD
Professor of Surgery, Surgeon in Chief
Yale University

Project Deputy Directors

Evelyn Granieri, MD, MPH, MSEd
Division Chief
Columbia University

Paul Katz, MD
Associate Professor
Florida State University

Michael Malone, MD
Medical Director, Aurora Senior Services/Aurora at Home 
Geriatric Medicine Fellowship Program Director 
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Myron Miller, MD
Division Director
Sinai Hospital of Baltimore

Peter Pompei, MD
Clinical Professor, Medicine
Stanford University

Jane Potter, MD  
Chief, Division of Geriatrics and Gerontology
University of Nebraska

Specialty Council Members 


  • Miles Berger, MD, PhD  
    Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology
    Duke University
  • Shamsuddin Akhtar, MD (Alternate)  
    Professor of Anesthesiology and Pharmacology
    Director, Medical Student Education
    Medical Director of YNHH
    Yale University

Colon and Rectal Surgery

  • Marcia Russell, MD
    Assistant Professor, Surgery
    University of California, Los Angeles

Emergency Medicine

  • Teresita Hogan, MD 
    Director, Geriatric Emergency Medicine Group
    Assistant Professor 
    University of Chicago
  • Manish Shah, MD
    Vice Chair for Research and Academic Affairs
    University of Wisconsin
  • Ula Hwang, MD (Alternate)  
    Associate Professor, Emergency Medicine, Geriatrics, and Palliative Medicine
    Icahn School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai

General Surgery

  • Martin Makary, MD, MPH
    Assistant Professor
    Johns Hopkins University
  • Ronnie Rosenthal, MD  
    Associate Professor, Surgery
    Yale University
  • Clifford Ko, MD, MS, MSHS (Alternate)
    Assistant Professor
    University of California, Los Angeles


  • Holly E. Richter, MD, PhD 
    Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
    University of Alabama at Birmingham


  • Andrew Lee, MD 
    Professor and Chair
    The Methodist Hospital 
  • Simon Law, MD 
    Assistant Professor, Opthalmology
    University of California, Los Angeles
  • Gwen Sterns, MD (Alternate)  
    Clinical Professor 
    Rochester General Hospital
  • Bradley Katz, MD, PhD (Alternate) 
    Associate Professor
    University of Utah

Orthopaedic Surgery

  • Arvind Nana, MD 
    Orthopaedic Surgeon
    JPS Health Institute
  • Charles Weiss, MD 
    Orthopaedic Surgeon
  • Elton Strauss, MD (Alternate)
    Chief of Orthopaedic Trauma & Reconstructive Surgery
    Icahn School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai
  • Peter Cohen, MD (Alternate) 
    Orthopaedic Surgeon
    VA Pittsburgh Health Care System


  • Steven Parnes, MD 
    Professor and Head 
    Albany Medical College
  • Ara Chalian, MD
    Director of Facial Plastic and Reconstruction Surgery and as a Head and Neck Surgeon
    University of Pennsylvania
  • David Eibling, MD, FACS (Alternate)
    University of Pittsburgh

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

  • Patrick Kortebein, MD
    Assistant Chief / Clinical Professor
    VA Sacramento
  • David Cifu, MD (Alternate)
    Virginia Commonwealth University
  • M. Elizabeth Sandel, MD (Alternate)  
    Medical Director 
    Paradigm Management Services
    Thoracic Surgery
    Society of Thoracic Surgeons – STS
  • Joseph Cleveland Jr., MD 
    Professor, Surgery-Cardiothoracic
    University of Colorado Denver
  • Mark Katlic, MD
    Chairman, Department of Surgery 
    Surgeon in Chief 
    Sinai Hospital
  • Ronald Weintraub, MD 
    Surgeon, Cardiothoracic
    Cambridge Health Alliance

Trauma Surgery

  • Sasha Adams, MD 
    Assistant Professor, Department of Surgery
    University of Texas Health – Houston
  • Vanessa Ho, MD 
    Assistant Professor 
    University Hospitals of Cleveland


  • Tomas Griebling, MD  
    Assistant Professor and Vice-Chair
    The University of Kansas
  • Charles Scales, MD 
    Associate Professor of Surgery
    Duke University
  • Peter Albertsen, MD (Alternate) 
    Professor of Surgery
    Chief and Program Director, Division of Urology
    University of Connecticut Health Center
  • Anne Suskind, MD, MS, FACS (Alternate) 
    Associate Professor of Urology
    University of California, San Francisco
  • Rabih Chaer, MD 
    Professor of Surgery
    Director, Vascular Residency Program
    Chief, Vascular Surgery, UPMC Presbyterian
    University of Pittsburgh
  • Vivian Ghatan, MD 
    Chair, Department of Surgery
    Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine

Back to Top