Choosing Wisely® Champion Awards

Rebecca Dobert

The Choosing Wisely® Champions program helps expand the Choosing Wisely® campaign by highlighting stories of people whose leadership in choosing tests and treatments wisely has inspired others to promote high-quality, person-centered care. For the 2019 award, the AGS congratulates Rebecca Dobert, practice manager of the Baystate Medical Center Division of Geriatrics and Palliative Care and Project Manager for Baystate’s Geriatrics Workforce Enhancement Program (GWEP).  A champion of age-friendly health systems, Ms. Dobert has led change to enhance screening for cognitive and functional impairment and markedly improved documentation of health care proxies and advance care planning in the inpatient and outpatient settings—all efforts that have led to recognition of Baystate as an exemplary age-friendly site by the Institute for Healthcare Improvement. With Ms. Dobert’s support, the Baystate ACE unit interdisciplinary team has decreased use of antipsychotics, restraints, and sedatives, and shifted a greater focus toward improved prescribing methods and individualized dementia care. The AGS applauds Ms. Dobert for these efforts.

Past Recipients of the Choosing Wisely® Champion Award

2018      Alina Sibley, APRN, BC
2017      Eric Anthony Lee, MD
2016      Heidi-Ann Courtney, PA-C, and Ariel Green, MD, MPH