Clinician of the Year Award

J. Eugene Lammers, MD, MPH, FACP, AGSF

The AGS has named J. Eugene Lammers, MD, MPH, FACP, AGSF, its 2018 Clinician of the Year. Dr Lammers is Medical Director and Primary Care Physician at Mercy LIFE of Alabama, where he is part of an interdisciplinary team caring for 175 older adults.

“Dr. Lammers has led care at health systems across the U.S., and has consistently been recognized for seeking out better means to deliver care in his communities,” noted Ellen Flaherty, PhD, APRN, AGSF, AGS Board Chair. “That desire to improve person-centered care for us all as we age is a hallmark of the AGS, just as Dr. Lammers is an exemplar of what we value in exceptional geriatrics clinicians.”

“I have been so fortunate throughout my career to work with peers in nursing, social work, rehabilitation, pharmacy, and other fields that have made it possible to provide the highest quality of care for frail older adults,” observed Dr. Lammers.

Dr. Lammers has pioneered innovative approaches to care but also has worked ardently to ensure that all members of his healthcare teams are fully empowered and able to embrace their roles in promoting health and independence for older people.

Among many responsibilities, Dr. Lammers presently oversees quality of care for the Mercy LIFE of Alabama PACE (Program of All-inclusive Care for the Elderly), with its focus on helping chronically ill, under-resourced older individuals who are trying to stay in the community and avoid the nursing home. He is recognized nationally by his PACE peers, serving as a board member for Mercy LIFE-West Philadelphia and as a volunteer member of the Clinical Advisory Committee for the Care Kinesis PACE Pharmacy. He also has been a frequent collaborator for presentations at the National PACE Association.

Dr. Lammers has been involved in clinical education throughout his career, and since 2011  has been serving as an Adjunct Clinical Professor of Medicine at the University of South Alabama College of Medicine, where he received his medical degree.  His ability and willingness both to teach and learn from students and PACE colleagues alike has helped to shape person-centered, team-based care not only in his native Alabama but also across the country, where Dr. Lammers’ trainees continue to promote high-quality care for older adults.  Dr. Lammers is also a member Healthy Gulf Coast Care Transitions Board, tasked with improving care transitions into and out of hospitals and nursing homes.

Past Recipients of the Clinician of the Year Award

2017      Fatima Sheikh, MD, CMD, MPH
2016      Lisa Tank, MD, FACP
2015      Ronald S. Duemler, MD, MS, CMD
2014      Pamela S. Tronetti, DO, AGSF
2013      Rosemary D. Laird, MD, MHSA
2012      Niharika N Suchak, MBBS, MHS, FACP
2011      Margaret A. Noel, MD
2010      Jerome Epplin, MD, AGSF
2009      Michelle S. Eslami, MD
2008      Valisa Saunders, MN, APRN, BC, GNP
2007      Rebecca D. Elon, MD, MPH
2006      F. Michael Gloth, II, MD, FACP
2005      Henry Schneiderman, MD, FACP
2004      Roy Bradford Whitney, Jr., MD
2003      Taylor Graves, MD, Atlanta, GA
2002      Jerry M. Earll, MD, Washington, DC
2001      Daniel Haimowitz, MD, FACP, CMD, Levittown, PA
2000      Steven C. Castle, MD, Agoura Hills, CA
1999      Samuel C. Durso, MD, Baltimore, MD
1998      Mary Ann Forciea, MD, Philadelphia, PA
1995      Mary A. Johnson-Crockett, MD, Potomac, MD
1994      Gary E. Applebaum, MD, Baltimore, MD
1993      Francis Salerno, MD, Baltimore, MD