David H. Solomon Memorial Public Service Award

Arti Hurria, MD

The AGS will recognize the late Arti Hurria, MD, a geriatrics oncologist who was one our country’s most passionate advocates for older adults with cancer,  with the David H. Solomon Public Service Award for 2019. Dr. Hurria, who tragically passed away in November 2018, was committed to improving the geriatrics competence of all physicians and health professionals—like David H. Solomon, MD, namesake for this award. Dr. Hurria set the standard for interprofessional collaboration between researchers in aging and those from other specialties. Her husband, Thomas Lee, MD, will accept the award on her behalf at the AGS 2019 Annual Scientific Meeting (#AGS19), May 2-4 in Portland, Ore.

“We are privileged to work in a profession attuned to the memory of those who have gone before us,” notes Laurie G. Jacobs, MD, AGSF, AGS President. “The model Dr. Hurria set of servant leadership continues to benefit her colleagues and older adults. We, like many others, will continue to carry that legacy forward.” 

Dr. Hurria joined the AGS in 2006 and championed some of the Society’s most influential programs connecting other specialists to geriatrics principles, and to the rewards of caring for older adults. Dr. Hurria was Chair of the AGS Cancer and Aging Special Interest Group and the AGS Medical Specialties Section. At the time of her death, she was Principal Investigator for an AGS grant from the National Institute on Aging supporting a conference series for the Grants for Early Medical/Surgical Specialists' Transition to Aging Research (GEMSSTAR) program. This grant epitomized Dr. Hurria’s interests, enthusiasm, and collaborative spirit.

Like the GEMSSTAR scholars and countless other colleagues, collaborators, and trainees she supported, Dr. Hurria believed deeply in the need to infuse geriatrics into all specialties. She not only put that belief into action, but she also became a model for making it a priority in geriatrics, oncology, and beyond. Along with being a world-class researcher, she was an ardent champion for team-based, interprofessional care and for integrating geriatrics principles into education so that all patients and families could receive person-centered, high-quality care.

Before her passing, Dr. Hurria was the George Tsai Family Chair in Geriatric Oncology, the founding Director of the Center for Cancer and Aging and the Vice-Provost for Academic Affairs at City of Hope National Medical Center in Duarte, Calif. With a focus on improving cancer treatments, daily functioning and quality of life for older cancer patients, Dr. Hurria was honored with multiple awards across her career. She did her accelerated 7-year combined undergraduate and medical school training at Northwestern University in Chicago, completed her residency at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, and her fellowships in geriatrics at the Harvard Geriatrics Fellowship Program and her medical oncology fellowship at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York.  After joining Memorial as a faculty member, she transitioned to City of Hope in California.  She was the proud and devoted mother to her daughter Serena, whom she adored.  

Established by the AGS in 2002, the David H. Solomon Memorial Public Service Award celebrates the legacy of David H. Solomon, MD, AGSF, a renowned geriatrician committed to community service and advancing knowledge about the care of older individuals.

Past Recipients of the David H. Solomon Memorial Public Service Award

2018    John R. Burton, MD, AGSF
                George W. Drach, MD, AGSF
2017    Barbara Resnick, PhD, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP, AGSF
2016    Thomas T. Yoshikawa, MD, AGSF
2015    Jennie Chin Hansen, RN, MSN, FAAN
2014    Corinne H. Rieder, EdD
2013    Joanne G. Schwartzberg, MD
2011    Senator Herb Kohl (D-WI)
2010    Meghan Gerety, MD
2008    William D. Novelli
2007    Nora Gibson, MSW
2006    Donna I. Regenstreif, PhD
2005    Charlotte Maguire, MD
2004    Donald W. Reynolds Foundation
2003    The John A. Hartford Foundation
2002    Senator Harry Reid (D-Nev)