Edward Henderson Award

Sharon A. Brangman, MD, FACP, AGSF

The Edward Henderson Award is conferred upon a distinguished clinician, educator, or researcher who also delivers the Henderson State-of-the-Art Lecture on a topic related to the body of his or her work at the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting. This year’s awardee, Sharon A. Brangman, MD, FACP, AGSF, was chosen for her research and clinical achievements in geriatrics, particularly for her work in Alzheimer’s disease, hospice and palliative medicine, depression, and end of life care. She will deliver the Society’s Henderson State-of-the-Art Lecture at the AGS 2022 Annual Scientific Meeting.

Dr. Brangman is a Distinguished Service Professor and Chair of the Department of Geriatrics at SUNY Upstate Medical University in Syracuse, NY, and Director of the Upstate Center of Excellence for Alzheimer's Disease (CEAD). 

Like the geriatrician for whom her award is named, Dr. Brangman has selflessly shared her talent and energy with the American Geriatrics Society (AGS). She was a member of the Board of Directors of the American Geriatrics Society for ten years and completed terms as Society President and Board Chair. She is also a past President of the Association of Directors of Geriatrics Academic Programs (ADGAP). Dr. Brangman currently serves as a member of the board of the Health in Aging Foundation.

Dr. Brangman received her undergraduate degree in biology from Syracuse University and in 1981 received her medical degree from SUNY Upstate Medical University in Syracuse. She completed residency training in internal medicine at Montefiore Medical Center in the Bronx, New York, where she also completed fellowship training in geriatric medicine. Dr. Brangman is board-certified in internal medicine and geriatric medicine as well as hospice and palliative care.

Past Recipients of the Edward Henderson Award

2021      Ellen Flaherty, PhD, APRN, AGSF
2019      Laura Mosqueda, MD, AGSF
2018      Bruce Leff, MD, AGSF
2017      Richard Allman, MD
2016      Christopher Callahan, MD
2015      Robert M. Palmer, MD, MPH
2014      Michael W. Rich, MD
2013      Diane E. Meier, MD
2012      David B. Reuben, MD
2011      Mary E. Tinetti, MD
2010      Sharon K. Inouye, MD, MPH
2009      Mary Naylor, RN, PhD
2008      Linda P. Fried, MD
2007      Joseph T. Hanlon, PharmD, MS
2006      Walter Willet, MD
2005      Jeffrey Cummings, MD
2004      Edward Wagner, MD
2003      Vincent Mor, PhD
2002      David T. Felson, MD
2001      Mahlon R. DeLong, MD
2000      Bruce Vladeck, MD