Outstanding Junior Clinician Educator of the Year Award

The Outstanding Junior Clinician Educator of the Year Award is targeted to an AGS Member who is a clinician-educator junior faculty (Assistant Professor/Instructor) in the development stages of their careers. The awardee will have made a significant contribution to the education and training of students/trainees in geriatrics and the progress of geriatrics education in health professions schools as evidenced by meeting some or all of the following criteria: significant contribution to the teaching of students/trainees; significant contribution to mentoring and providing career advice to students/trainees; significant contribution to educational program development. Teaching expertise, as well as educational program development, is valued in the selection of the recipient for this honor.

2024 Recipient: Mariah Robertson, MD, MPH

This award is annually bestowed upon an outstanding clinician educator junior faculty member for an impressive body of work in geriatric education. This year’s recipient is Mariah Robertson, MD, MPH, is a distinguished clinician, educator and program builder. She is currently the Associate Program Director of the Geriatric Medicine Fellowship at Johns Hopkins University. Focused on improving learner understanding of care for homebound and home limited older adults, Dr. Robertson has become recognized as an expert in geriatrics and home-based care education. Through a HRSA funded Geriatrics Academic Career Award, she has become a recognized expert in using Visual Thinking Strategies to help learners examine biases they may bring to the homes and communities of the medically underserved populations of homebound older adults that they care for. She is also committed to promoting equity and justice through education and has published on the care of LGBTQ+ older adults in the home. 

Dr. Robertson has been honored with several teaching awards including the Most Innovative Teaching Presentation from the John Hopkins Department of Medicine Teaching Competition in 2019, the Patrick Murphy Resident Teaching Award from Johns Hopkins Bayview Internal Medicine Residency in 2018 and was inducted, as an internal medicine resident, to the Distinguished Teaching Society of Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in 2018 - an honor most commonly awarded to faculty members. An active member of the AGS, she has served on the Education Committee and subcommittees and has acted as the fellow representative on the AGS’ annual Program Committee. 

She has also led and presented multiple workshops at national meetings, including at the 2022 AGS Annual Scientific Meeting. Dr. Robertson has presented abstracts at the American Geriatrics Society, Society of General Internal Medicine and American Academy of Home-care Medicine conferences in 2020, 2021, and 2022 focused on her educational work.


Past Recipients of the Outstanding Junior Clinician Educator of the Year Award

2023      Jennifer Ouellet, MD
2022      Norka Quillatupa, MD
2021      Pei Chen, MD
2020      Nina Blachman, MD, MHPE
2019      Skotti Church, MD
2018      Andrea Wershof Schwartz, MD, MPH
2017      Kristen Thornton, MD, FAAFP, AGSF, CWSP
2016      Jessica Colburn, MD
2015      Shaida Talebreza Brandon, MD
2014      Danelle Cayea, MD, MS
2013      Manuel Eskildsen, MD, MPH, CMD

Back to Top