Clinical Student Research Award

Vanessa Ho, MS

The Clinical Student Research Award is presented to undergraduate students who have submitted exceptional research for presentation at the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting. Vanessa Ho, MS, a medical student at California Northstate University College of Medicine, is our 2020 Clinical Student Research Award recipient for her submission, “Time to Benefit for Stroke Reduction after More Intensive Blood Pressure Control in Older Adults.” Ms. Ho’s research works to estimate the time to benefit for stroke prevention after initiating intensive hypertension treatment, weighing benefits against potential risks of treatment for older adults. A 2018 Medical Student Training in Aging Research (MSTAR) scholar, Ms. Ho has long had an interest in aging. She has served as a health educator for various community and assisted living facilities and provided care for patients with dementia. She values working with underserved populations, assisting numerous non-English speakers with completing advance directives at the Chinatown Health Resource Center in San Francisco. Having held numerous roles as a research analyst and assistant, Ms. Ho’s diverse academic background and interdisciplinary interests provide a strong foundation as a leader in the future of our field.


Past Recipients of the Clinician Student Research Award

2019      Smrithi Sukumar
2018      Michael Liu
2017      Laura Hatchman
                  Jessica Rizzuto
2016      Margaret Puelle, BS
2015      Justin Yamamoto
2014      Julie Thai, MPH
                  Lucille Brunker
2013      Nerissa Duchin
                  Bianca Methvin
2012      Israel (Riley) Peña, Jr.
2011      Siobhan M. Case, BA, MS-II
2010      Cynthia So, BS, MSII
2009      Melissa M. Fish, MS-II
2008      Gina Fujikami, MSIV
2007      Priscilla Yee, MSIV