Nascher/Manning Award

William Applegate, MD, MPH, MACP, AGSF
Thomas Edes, MD, MS

The AGS this year honored not one but two pioneers of geriatrics expertise with the prestigious Nascher/Manning Award given biannually at the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting. William Applegate, MD, MPH, MACP, AGSF—Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (JAGS) and a renowned clinician-educator at Wake Forest Health and the Wake Forest School of Medicine—and Thomas Edes, MD, MS—Executive Director of Geriatrics & Extended Care Operations for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)—now join a cadre of less than 20 geriatrics healthcare professionals recognized with the Nascher/Manning Award since its inception in 1987.

A professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, Section on Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine, Wake Forest School of Medicine, Dr. Applegate has long been instrumental in leading change and innovation, particularly at the AGS. An AGS member since 1984 and a former Society President, Dr. Applegate has twice anchored JAGS as Editor-in-Chief, having returned most recently in 2016 following an earlier tenure from 1993 through 2000.

In the interim, Dr. Applegate served as Chairperson of Internal Medicine and then Dean at the Wake Forest School of Medicine, as well as President of Wake Forest University Health Sciences. Across his professional career, Dr. Applegate has authored or co-authored more than 200 peer-reviewed journal articles or book chapters, and has served as a reviewer for some of health care’s most prestigious academic publications. In his new work at JAGS, Dr. Applegate has helped to increase awareness for geriatrics scholarship, with a particular focus on new media at a journal already included in more than 9,000 library collections around the world.

That same prowess is matched by the impressive legacy of Dr. Edes, co-recipient of the 2018 Nascher/Manning Award. In his current work with the VA—our nation’s largest integrated health system—Dr. Edes has national responsibility for a range of geriatrics and extended-care services at more than 1,200 health facilities that, together, provide care for more than 9 million veterans.

Since 2000, Dr. Edes has played a pivotal role in quadrupling access to home-based primary care for veterans with serious chronic disabling conditions who are too sick to come to clinic, including more than 15,000 veterans each day who reside in rural areas or tribal lands. During this time, Dr. Edes took the VA Medical Foster Home concept from a one-site pilot to a nationally acclaimed program now in 43 states. Dr. Edes also garnered the support of Congress to establish the first VA budget allocation for hospice care, which led to palliative care teams in every VA medical center across the U.S. and increased veterans’ hospice utilization to 40 percent.

Through his longstanding interests in the economic and clinical impact of home-based primary care, Dr. Edes actively shaped the development of Independence-at-Home, a promising Medicare demonstration of health reform that now provides comprehensive, interdisciplinary, longitudinal care in the homes of older Americans, both veterans and non-veterans with serious, chronic, disabling conditions. Prior to 2000, Dr. Edes served as Chief of Geriatrics and Extended Care at the Harry S. Truman Memorial VA Medical Center and Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Missouri. There he was instrumental in developing Geriatric Evaluation and Management programs for inpatient and outpatient care, subacute care and hospice units, a geriatric fellowship program, and the advanced disease planning initiative.

“Like Dr. Applegate, Dr. Edes’ research interests have helped to improve home care, end-of-life care, and chronic disease care for us all as we age,” noted Ellen Flaherty, PhD, APRN, AGSF, AGS Board Chair. “There is no more fitting pair of colleagues to join our cohort of Nascher/Manning honorees.”.

The Nascher/Manning Award is named for a geriatrics pioneer who helped build the foundation for what would become the AGS. Ignatz Leo Nascher, MD, was the first clinician to advocate for establishing a specialty focused on the care of older adults. His namesake award is one of several honors conferred by the AGS at its Annual Scientific Meeting.

Past Recipients of the Nascher / Manning Award

2016      William Hazzard, MD, AGSF
2014      Paul McGann, MD
2012      Joseph G Ouslander, MD AGSF
2010      Mathy Mezey, EdD, RN, FAAN
2008      Jeffrey B. Halter, MD
2006      Patricia P. Barry, MD, MPH
2004      Kenneth L. Minaker
2002      John Morley, MB, B.Ch
2000      Peter Boling, MD
1998      Joanne D. Lynn, MD, MA, MS
1996      T. Franklin Williams, MD
1994      Leo M. Cooney, Jr., MD
1992      Paul Haber, MD
1989      Amasa Ford, MD
1987      Leslie Libow, MD