Scientist-in-Training Research Award

Deborah Mack, MPH

The Scientist-in-Training Research Award is presented to a pre-doctoral candidate with a promising career as a geriatrics scientist. The AGS is pleased to present this award to Deborah Mack, MPH, a doctoral candidate in Clinical and Population Health Research at the University of Massachusetts. Ms. Mack’s dissertation focuses on drug utilization and safety for nursing home residents, with particular emphasis on the use and safety of statins. Supporting this work, her recent findings on the geographic variation in statin pharmacotherapy among nursing home residents with life-limiting illness suggests extensive geographic variation in statin prescribing across hospital referral regions in the United States, especially for those over 75 years of age. This work highlights how inconsistencies can lead to disparities in care. Ms. Mack’s long-standing commitment to health services research in gerontology and pharmacoepidemiology are evident in a variety of research assistant experiences and past societal honors from AGS, the International Society for Pharmacoepidemiology, and the Geronotological Society of America, among other local and national awards.

Past Recipients of the Scientist-in-Training Research Award

2019   Minakshi Raj, MPH
2018   Joshua Niznik, PharmD
2017   Andrea E. Daddato, MS
2016   Andrew Zullo, PharmD, ScM
2015   Camilla B. Pimentel, MPH
2014   Rebecca H. Affoo, MCLScSLP
2013   Lolita Nidadavolu, BA
2012   Jillian Wong
2011   Jason L. Sanders, BA, MD/PhD Cand.
2010   David Wert
2009   Elisa Rodriguez, BS
2008   Danielle R. Bouchard, MS