Outstanding Mid-Career Clinician Educator of the Year Award

Mandi Sehgal, MD

The Outstanding Mid-Career Clinician Educator of the Year Award is given to a faculty member for impressive work in geriatrics education. The AGS is pleased this year to recognize Mandi Sehgal, MD, for her efforts to advance person-centered care and geriatrics education at both local and national levels. An Associate Professor of Geriatric Medicine at Florida Atlantic University (FAU) Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, Dr. Sehgal directs the Geriatrics and Healthy Aging longitudinal curriculum and geriatrics/palliative care clerkship, for which she oversees faculty development, implementation, and evaluation. She also serves as the faculty advisor to the FAU AGS student chapter for trainees interested in geriatrics. Dr. Sehgal is the Chair of the AGS Teachers’ Section and the Associate Editor of the Education and Training section for the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. She is also the Teaching and Learning lead for Aquifer Geriatrics (formerly web-GEMS), the AGS National Online Curriculum, a role in which she works to teach others how to enhance their curricula across the country.

Past Recipients of the Outstanding Mid-Career Clinical Educator of the Year Award

2019      Colleen Christmas, MD, FACP
2018      Amit Shah, MD, FACP, AGSF
2017      Lisa Walke, MD, MSHA, AGSF
2016      Anna Chang, MD
2015      Susan Parks, MD
2014      Louise Aronson, MD
2013      Helen Fernandez, MD