Edward Henderson Student Award

The Edward Henderson Student Award is presented to an undergraduate student in a health professions program who is interested in pursuing a career in geriatrics and with demonstrated excellence in contributing to the field. 

2023 Recipient: Victoria Kozar 

Victoria Kozar, a third-year medical student at the University of Connecticut School of Medicine, is this year’s recipient in recognition of her extensive community involvement, significant leadership skills, record of academic excellence, and strong commitment to geriatrics care. As an undergraduate student, Ms. Kozar was a pioneering participant of a first-of-its-kind program where she spent a year residing in an assisted living community developing intergenerational programs and sharing her skills with neighbor residents. Since that time, Ms. Kozar has participated in numerous other educational initiatives including founding and serving as president of the AGS Student Chapter at UConn, delivering a TEDx talk on intergenerational relationships to combat ageism, and as a student representative for the UConn Curricular Advisory Committee where she spearheaded new editions to the UConn Medical School curriculum to promote understanding of the care of older adults. Her research study, “Pandemonium: How COVID-19 Has Impacted Emotional Experience in Older Adults”, examined how various life domains affected by COVID-19 related to emotional experiences among groups of older adults with or without a history of major depressive disorder (MDD) and will be presented at AGS23 this May. An accomplished leader and vocal advocate for the needs of older adults, Ms. Kozar has demonstrated a deep commitment to the field of geriatrics. 


Past Recipients of the Edward Henderson Student Award

2022      Justine Enns
2020      Natalie Richmond
2019      Elizabeth Bloemen, MPH
2018      Sonia Marcello
2017      Thom Ringer, JD
2016      Marielle Bolano, BS
2015      Meng Ni, PhD
2014      Ravi B Parikh
2013      Jason Liebowitz
2012      Vivien Sun
2011      Mark Fitzgerald, BS
2010      Carolyn P. Horney, MS-IV
2009      Elizabeth Kwo, BA
2008      Shayna Rich
2007      Andrew D. McWilliams, MPH, MS-III
2006      Juliesa Pavon, MS-3
2005      Christopher Allen Jones, MS
2004      Thomasina Lynn Bailey
2003      Kathleen Tschantz Unroe
2002      Katherine S. Garman
2001      Joy E. Cuezze
2000      Amit A. Shah


Back to Top