Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year Award

Lauren E. Ferrante, MD, MHS

Presented to early career investigators with a demonstrated focus on geriatrics research, the Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year Award this year honors Lauren E. Ferrante, MD, MHS, an assistant professor of medicine in the Section of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine at the Yale School of Medicine. Dr. Ferrante’s research is centered at the intersection of geriatrics and critical care medicine, with the overarching goal of improving the functional outcomes of older ICU survivors. Her work has identified novel factors associated with functional recovery after a critical illness, demonstrated the importance of pre-ICU vulnerability factors (such as frailty) on post-ICU outcomes, and most recently, developed and validated a risk prediction model for persistent functional impairment among older ICU survivors. Dr. Ferrante is also mPI of the VALIANT study, which is investigating the long-term outcomes of older adults who survive a COVID-19 hospitalization. Supported by a Beeson Award and the Yale Claude D. Pepper Older Americans Independence Center, Dr. Ferrante’s research is making incredible strides toward improving the long-term functional outcomes of critically ill older adults. Dr. Ferrante serves as a national leader in the aging-focused subspecialties, championing interprofessional collaboration and mentoring the next generation of aging-focused investigators across disciplines. She co-chairs both the American Thoracic Society’s Aging in Critical Care Group and the AGS Medical Subspecialties Section, and in 2019 she was the inaugural recipient of the Arti Hurria Memorial Award for Emerging Investigators in Internal Medicine.


Past Recipients of the Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year Award

2021       Lauren Ferrante, MD, MHS
2020       Andrew Cohen, MD, DPhil
2019       Nancy Schoenborn, MD, MHS
2018      John Newman, MD, PhD
2017      Dae Kim, MD, MPH, ScD
2016      Rebecca Brown, MD, MPH
                  S. Ryan Greysen, MD, MHS, MA, FHM
2015      Micah Drummond, MD
2014      Sarah D. Berry, MD
2013      Amy Kelley, MD, MSHS
                  Heather Whitson, MD, MSHS